Coffee, one and only addiction

super_funny_hilarious_worlds-funniest_pictures_of_add-coffee

biscuit,coffee,coffee,cup,free,usenet,pocket,usenet,images-e1b3224d785eb7c29a1074baee11408f_h

It’s hard to explain my strange relationship with coffee. Probably it’s like in a case of million other people. When I wake up and have this first cup of the day – it’s really a sign that another adventures are coming. It motives me to work and give me a drop of happiness. There is one country in which the coffee is just marvelous. It’s not Italy, I’m sorry, I was in Italy two times and I taste different Italian coffees. The winner in this competition – for me – it’s definitely Portugal. So how many types of coffee do we have there? A LOT.

coffee-kill

Let’s make a rainbow of coffees!! 🙂 From the strongest to the weakest.

So – first of all – known everywhere espresso – other name is just café, italiana or (in Lisbon only) bica. Basically is just a pure black, strong coffee served in a small cup. Three sips, 80 cents (more or less in Portugal) and you’re good to go.

amazing,awesome,beautiful,coffee,food,love-cd5133bf61ecb781db925763869c2202_h

The next one is café pingado. The original name came from the verb “pingar” which means “drop”. So the form stays the same – small espresso cup, but we r adding a few drops of milk.

0,art,cartoon,coffee,humour,perspective-a8385ef1c226761073f335845fe529ed_h

drink-coffee

Then we r moving on to the more “milky” kind of coffees. Meia de leite is fifty-fifty. 50 % milk, 50 % coffee, served in an elegant, standard coffee cup.

Very similar to meia de leite is garoto. It’s also fifty-fifty, but depending on the place – they r usually serving it in different cups.

coffee,sweets,cute,fashion,fun,ring-36d864e130f754cdf0de82a1e2004bf2_h

Then, there is my favourite one, galão. This has definitely more milk and it’s served in a tall glass, instead of a cup. The price is usually around 1,20 euros.

The weakest in a coffee flavour are cariocas. Carioca de café and carioca de limão. This last one is not a coffee at all, but I mentioned just because of the connection with the first one.

coffee,typography,word-b295aeced09713ad74de640c95e4dc32_h

Of course – in different regions – we can find more names and more specific types of coffees, this one presented by me, it’s just a basic coffee menu.

402633_373199386039760_166854740007560_1503833_517831432_n

The most pleasurable thing to do in Portugal is entering “Pasteleria” (kind of coffee place with a lot of pastries) and ordering a coffee and a cake. Pastelerias are almost in every corner ( the same as cabeleireiros – hairdressers – I will never understand why Portuguese people need so many hairdressers). So drinking coffee there is not only a habit – it’s a ritual.

coffee,cats,cute,yum,kitten,kitty,coffee-3578beaf97f5ebd81a99b3b74a2b8e08_h

Some day I will write sth about biological and health aspects of coffee (but probably most of you already have this knowledge). For now – let’s join – all the coffee-lovers. May the next coffee that you drink will be the best coffee in your life. And may the caffeine (force) be with you!

 

Thanks for reading, cheerylady

2 thoughts on “Coffee, one and only addiction

  1. Thank you for viewing my blog. I to love coffee and I always say I have my coffee straight, a full cup of strong black coffee, with no trimmings i.e. no sugar or milk. If I want anything adding then I ask for another full cup of str…….

Leave a Reply

