Gallery

Be like Paul Newman

1186328_244656862350050_1681210499_n

With his talent and a handsome face, he could have world on his knees. He didn’t want that. He preferred stable family life, away from the press and Hollywood. He is also an example of a great love story.

7269160030_35125ba39b_o

Firstly he was married to Jackie Witte from 1949 to 1958. They get married quite young and time&distance did their work, which resulted in divorce. Than he met actress Joanne Woodward and he married her early in 1958. They remained married for fifty years until his death in 2008.

7269499638_bdd7e22569_o

Newman was well known for his devotion to his wife and family. I found this two quotes that are really mind-blowing, because they can show a bit, how great their love was.

Somebody asked Newman once about monogamy and being faithfull. This is how he respond:

“Why go out for a hamburger when you have steak at home?” – Paul Newman

And this is how his wife, Joanne, talked about relationship:

Sexiness wears thin after a while and beauty fades, but to be married to a man who makes you laugh every day, ah, now that’s a real treat.” — Joanne Woodward

7269162928_48350bbdcd_o

He is not only example for me, which is proved by this quote from “Friends”:

Chandler: “It’s not just their marriage! I mean, look at yours. Look at everybody’s! The only person that can make marriage work is Paul Newman! And I’ve met me; I am not Paul Newman. I don’t race cars! I don’t make popcorn! None of my proceeds go to charity.”

 Chandler praises Paul Newman on Friends

What was my point anyway in writing about Paul Newman today? My point is, that I miss that in today’s life. Where couples are fragile as glass, where nobody fight for nobody anymore, where divorce is like serving a breakfast – and everything is being justify by the saying “it’s XXI century”. Facebook has his “open relationship” and “it’s complicated” statuses, which is just a big bullshit, really. Everything is quick, shallow and pointless.

Because I don’t want to be like that. I want to be like Paul Newman, and you can all call me “naive” and “idealistic” – at least I will not be the one who is giving up before I even tried. And trust me – I’m practising my “be like Paul Newman” rule every day 🙂

3 thoughts on “Be like Paul Newman

  1. I always liked Paul Newman, and I’m glad you are “naive” and “idealistic”, because I agree that people divorce too easily. My wife and I have been married over 31 years, through sickness and in health, and both came close to death almost doing us part.

  2. I must be getting old … by the time I’d found how to make a comment I’d forgotten what I was going to say. In the meantime—marriage? Just be yourselves … and don’t rush into it.

Leave a Reply

